Toes in the Sand

Pumpkin Oatmeal

Posted on: 10/18/2009

Photobucket

We woke up to temperatures in the low 40’s. I actually had to turn on the heat last night. I cannot remember the last time that I have had to turn on the heat this early in the year.  I knew that my children would be very cold when they woke up, so oatmeal was in order.

I made Pumpkin Oatmeal for breakfast. This dish received 3 thumbs up from my children. I was told that I had to make it again. I did change the recipe. First I multiplied the recipe to feed my children. I also used 1/2 vanilla soy milk and 1/2 plain soy milk in the place of the milk. I also added a little bit more oatmeal at the end because my children like the texture with some raw oatmeal and some cooked.  I also used raisins instead of cranberries, why? My daughter is not a fan of cranberries.

Pumpkin Oatmeal with Raisins and Pecans

serves 4

1 1/2 cups vanilla soy milk

1 1/2 cups plain soy milk

2 cups old fashion oats

dash of salt

3/4 cup homemade pumpkin puree

dash of cinnamon(to taste)

handful of raisins

1/2 cup chopped pecans

3 Tablespoons brown sugar

a tsp butter

Bring the milk and salt to a boil. Add 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal and cook for 3 minutes. Add pumpkin, cinnamon, raisins and cook for another 2 minutes. I then added about 1/4 c oats, butter, and half the pecans and stirred. I then took it off the heat to get thicker. Once it thicken up, I dished it out and then added more pecans for a topping.

2 Responses to "Pumpkin Oatmeal"

I was JUST craving oatmeal yesterday morning. When my husband starts baking with our pumpkins (he does all of that – I just eat it!), I’m going to ask him to make this for me!

Oh my! Would you mind coming over to my house tomorrow morning and preparing this for me while I sleep? What a wonderful comforting breakfast to wake up to.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

BlogFrogUserID = 25547; BlogFrogBlogID = 1346602; BlogFrogColor = "77bbd4"; BlogFrogLinkColor = "ffffff"; BlogFrogTextColor = "000000"; BlogFrogN = 4; BlogFrogWidth = 180; BlogFrogShowProfile = "false"; BlogFrogShowTop = "False";
