Toes in the Sand

Self Evaluations

Posted on: 01/07/2010

Instead of doing my normal evaluations I thought that I would get the kids perspective. I had them each answer the following questions:

1. My best subject is ______.

2. I need the most improvement in __________.

3. If I could change one thing about our homeschool it would be ______.

4. I wouldn’t change this about our homeschool __________.

5. My educational goals for the rest of the year are.

6. The thing that I want to learn about before the end of the year is ______.

I thought that they did wonderful! They really thought hard. I was surprised how quickly some of the answers came.

Here are the answers:

Tracker:

1.  Math, it’s fun.

2. Reading

3.  Not doing it everyday.

4. No long days.

5. Finish my math book and read more books.

6. Snakes and sharks(surprise! NOT)

Squirrel:

1. Math, it’s easy.

2. grammar and handwriting. I stink at handwriting.

3. go to the park more often

4. playing with my friends

5. read 21 books

6. arctic wolves and ice

Tracker:

1. writing, I like it so I do it more often.

2. math, I just can’t get it.  I just cannot master multiplication and division.

3. more scientific field trips.

4. I can’t think of anything to change.

5. Read 20 book and master my math facts.

6. Foxes and bats.

I think that I am going to do this more often. The children really liked doing this. It proved that their opinion is valuable. It also gives me a peek into their minds, which I just love.

1 Response to "Self Evaluations"

How wonderful that you’re encouraging your children to take an active role in their homeschooling! I may have to borrow your idea!

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

BlogFrogUserID = 25547; BlogFrogBlogID = 1346602; BlogFrogColor = "77bbd4"; BlogFrogLinkColor = "ffffff"; BlogFrogTextColor = "000000"; BlogFrogN = 4; BlogFrogWidth = 180; BlogFrogShowProfile = "false"; BlogFrogShowTop = "False";
